Leaving vitapay.com

You will be redirected to .

VitaPayVitaPay
Compare processors

VitaPay and Shift4: two ways to price a card payment.

Shift4’s restaurant point of sale, Shift4 Dine, is sold for a monthly fee that includes hardware, with card processing built in and no published rate.

How they price

How Shift4 prices, from its own pages.

The Shift4 Dine pricing page offers point-of-sale software and hardware for a monthly fee with no upfront cost, and says card processing is built in at competitive rates, or with a program it describes as offsetting processing fees. It does not publish a processing rate or explain how that program works.

Shift4 does not publish an in-person, online or keyed-in processing rate on its Shift4 Dine pricing page. Ask Shift4 for its rate and any program terms in writing.

Published monthly plans

Shift4 Dine point of sale is sold as a monthly plan with no upfront cost, with the starting price on its pricing page.

Who each suits

Where each model tends to fit.

Who Shift4 suits

Restaurants that want point-of-sale hardware and software for a monthly fee with no upfront cost, and card processing included in the same arrangement.

Where VitaPay tends to fit

Restaurants that want to keep more of every sale with a cash discount program, set up compliantly, and larger groups that want a statement they can audit, on a cash discount program or transparent interchange-plus.

Whether it costs less depends on your card mix, your average sale and the pricing you are quoted, which is why VitaPay quotes in writing against your own statement rather than publishing a headline rate.

Side by side

VitaPay and Shift4, point by point.

As publicly stated by each company, checked September 21, 2026
ComparedVitaPayShift4
Pricing model

A cash discount program for restaurants by default; for larger groups, a cash discount program or transparent interchange-plus.

Quoted per business; not published

Published standard rates

Not published. Quoted in writing after a statement review.

No processing rate published on its own pricing page. Quoted per business.

Contract terms, as publicly stated

No long-term contract and no early termination penalty.

Not stated on its pricing page, which notes that terms and conditions apply and advertised pricing is for new customers.

Source: Shift4 Dine pricing page
Hardware, as publicly stated

Terminals can be bought outright or leased. A phone or tablet you already own can also be used.

Point-of-sale hardware is included in the monthly fee, with a lifetime warranty, as stated on its pricing page. Whether the hardware works with other processors is not stated.

Source: Shift4 Dine pricing page
Statement transparency

No statement, batch or annual fee and no monthly minimum, so every line is one you agreed to. On interchange-plus, interchange and assessments appear at cost, with the VitaPay margin shown as its own line.

Depends on the pricing agreed. The pricing page does not describe how processing costs are itemised; ask for a sample statement.

In fairness

When Shift4 may be the better fit.

If avoiding an upfront hardware cost matters most and one bundled monthly fee suits your cash flow, Shift4 Dine’s all-in-one arrangement may be the better fit. Ask for the processing rate and any program terms in writing, so the processing part can be compared on its own.

Questions

Common questions.

Does Shift4 publish its card processing rate?

Not on the Shift4 Dine pricing page as of September 21, 2026. The page refers to competitive processing rates and a program to offset processing fees, but gives no rate.

What does the Shift4 Dine monthly fee include?

According to its pricing page: point-of-sale software with future updates, point-of-sale hardware with a lifetime warranty, 24/7 customer support, cloud-based reporting and a mobile app.

Sources

Sources and date checked.

Every statement about Shift4 on this page was read on its own website. Prices and terms change; check the source before relying on them.

  1. Shift4 Dine pricing page Checked September 21, 2026

Other comparisons: VitaPay and Stripe, VitaPay and Square, VitaPay and Toast

Compare against your own statement.

Send us a recent statement and we will separate interchange and network costs from the processor’s share, then quote you in writing. No long-term contract and no early termination penalty.